Ashtanga yoga and it’s benefit

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is the modern way of doing exercises & stretching practice in combination with yoga breathing & ancient yoga philosophy. Also, you should not compare this yoga is not same as historical Ashtanga Yoga of Patanjali. The word “Vinyāsa” in Sanskrit language refers to a transition between two different positions and employed here, describes the process of transition between each yoga posture.

This is more dynamic, physically demanding practice synchronises breath and movement to produce an internal heat designed to purify the body. Ashtanga yoga, with its many vinyasas, is great for building core strength and toning the body. Also, it prepares you to sweat as you briskly move through a set sequence. Therefore, it looks same as modern day exercises.

Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga yoga founder

Mr K. Pattabhi Jois has modified and popularised during the 20th century which is often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga. Ashtanga means eight limbs or branches, of which asana or physical yoga posture is merely one branch, breath or pranayama is another. Both Pattabhi Jois and Sharath Jois, his grandson, encourage practice of this Yoga – all eight limbs. The first two limbs – Yama and Niyama – are given special emphasis to be practised in conjunction with the asanas, third and pranayama, fourth limb.

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois began his yoga studies in 1927 at the age of 12 by 1948 he had established the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute for teaching the specific yoga practice known as Ashtanga (eight-limbed in Sanskrit) Yoga. Ashtanga Yoga is named after the eight limbs of yoga mentioned in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

Power yoga and vinyasa yoga are the two generic terms that may refer to any type of aerobically vigorous yoga exercise derived from Ashtanga yoga.

This yoga practice begins with five repetitions of Surya Namaskara followed by a standing sequence. Following this the practitioner begins one of six series, followed by what is called the closing sequence. The six series are:

  1. Yoga Chikitsa, Yoga for Health or Yoga Therapy
  2. Nadi Shodhana, The Nerve Purifier (also called the Second series)
  3. The Advanced series: Sthira Bhaga, Centring of Strength
  4. Third series
  5. Fourth series
  6. Fifth series series
  7. Sixth series


Tristhana means the attention on three places and these are very essential for yoga practice. They will help you to purify at three levels. Always, they are all performed in conjunction with each other.

The three places are…

  1. breathing system (pranayama)
  2. posture (asana)
  3. looking place (dristhi)

The three levels are…

  1. The Body
  2. Nervous system
  3. The mind

Pattabhi Jois recommends to be in same state up to 5 to 8 breaths in any posture. You can also stay as long as possible in any posture. Breathing instructions can be given to do exhale and inhale as much as possible.

Finally, the main benefit by practising ashtanga yoga vinyasas is to keep your body, mind and nervous system are aligned with energy within. Consequently, all of your day to day actions will become vibrant as much as possible. So it will lead you to improve your focus levels on any work that you perform. Furthermore, when your mind becomes calm by practising yoga, it is very much possible to switch your mode of thinking towards spirituality for enlightenment.

You can also join my course called ‘Thought Management System‘ to be able to perform any type of yoga without lethargy and procrastination. When you can shift your mind towards performing this kind of yoga at home, you can save lot of money and time. You can also reduce your medical bills.

(Visited 102 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *